Bob Arraj Innovative Service Award

This award is presented annually by the **Nebraska Municipal Power Pool** (NMPP) to an individual of a municipal utility system who has excelled in the area of service and/or used innovative technological changes in the utility industry. **The Bob Arraj Innovative Service Award winner receives a check in the amount of \$350.00 to be given to a special project or program.**

Origin of the Award

Bob Arraj served as city administrator and utilities superintendent of Kimball, Neb., for 35 years. The award recognizes dedication to service and the use of "out of the box" creativity to address challenges. The award was initiated in 1990.

Eligibility

Any appointed or elected utility board member, city council official or employee of a community that is a member or participant with one of the NMPP Energy organizations (ACE, MEAN, NPGA, NMPP) is eligible.

Award Geiteria trates there is more than one way to complete a project;

- Possesses ability to envision new technological application for NMPP member systems;
- Investigates possibility of long-term application of an innovative method for performing a task;
- Possesses leadership capabilities to bring people together for consensus to improve customer service;
- Promotes positive growth and changes in the industry;
- Displays enthusiasm and promotes new ideas.

Examples of past winning qualities

- Visionary leader of the community
- Utilizes new technology
- Assisted with new recruitment of new industry
- Arranged exchange of service territory between neighboring rural electric and municipal utility
- Exemplifies principles of cooperation and mutual trust
- Utilization of city-owned GIS (geographic information system)
- Encouraged annexation to serve wider variety of industries/businesses with public power

Recent Award Winners

- 2024 Gene Hansen, Wayne, Neb.
- 2023 Russ Pfeil, Alma, Neb.
- 2022 Jerry Fales, Cozad, Neb.
- 2019 Curtis Mitchell, Fountain, Colo.
- 2018 Lance Hedquist, South Sioux City, Neb.
- 2017 Bob Lockmon, Stuart, Neb.
- 2016 Leroy Frana, Nebraska City, Neb.
- 2015 Randy Woldt, Wisner, Neb.
- 2014 Larry Brittenham, Superior, Neb.
- 2013 Doug Goracke, Tecumseh, Neb.
- 2012 Lynn Longmore, Callaway, Neb.
- 2011 Gary Mader, Grand Island, Neb.
- 2010 Marvin Schultes, Hastings, Neb.
- 2009 Chris Anderson, Central City, Neb.
- 2008 Dan Berlowitz, Seward, Neb.

2025 Bob Arraj Innovative Service Award Nomination

Name of Nominee:	Title:		
Address:	City:	State:	Zip:
Telephone:			
/our Name:			
Jtility Name:			
Address:	City:	State:	Zip:
Felephone:			
Give a brief explanation of ho	w the nominee has dem	onstrated "out-	of-the-box"
creativity and recognized the	challenges associated	with change in t	he utility or NMPP
Energy. Explain why you are	nominating your appoin	nted or elected ι	utility board member,
city council official, or employ	yee.		-
	,		
	NMP		
Pla	<i>ENER</i> ease return by February	• •	
1 1			
	Amber Degner	21, 2020 to.	

Phone : 402-474-4759 Fax : 402-474-0473