Rudy Hultgren Dedicated Service Award

This award is presented annually by the **Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska** (MEAN) to an individual who displays commendable efforts in promoting public power and its ideals and in exemplifying what MEAN represents – devotion and dedication to public power and working together for the benefit of the community. **The Rudy Hultgren Dedicated Service Award winner receives a check in the amount of \$350.00 to be given to a special project.**

Origin of the Award

Rudy Hultgren was a utility consultant and well-respected citizen of Lyons, Colo. who played an active leadership role in community service. The award was initiated in 1988.

Eligibility

Any appointed or elected utility board member, city council official or employee of a MEAN member system is eligible.

Award Criteria

- Exceptional leadership to municipal public power and within MEAN;
- Devotion to duty;
- Excellence in management and operation of a municipal electric utility system;
- Contribution to the betterment of the community and MEAN;
- Service and contributions toward the attainment of MEAN's goals and promotion of municipal cooperation.

Examples of winning qualities

- Implements programs beneficial to employees' professional/personal growth
- Active involvement in MEAN and NMPP Energy (board/committee service)
- Knowledge of municipal utility system
- Developer of services to benefit customers (trash collection, recycling, etc.)
- Key role in major upgrade to community's electric system
- Excellence in managing utilities and other municipal departments
- Active community member
- Forward-thinking leadership
- Well-respected by co-workers and community

Recent Award Winners

- 2024 Nate Francis, Fairbury, Neb.
- 2023 Doug Hazzard, Glenwood Springs, Colo.
- 2022 Tanner McCall, Curtis, Neb.
- 2018 Duane Hoffman, Oxford, Neb.
- 2017 Randy Woldt, Wisner, Neb.
- 2016 Phil Overeynder, Aspen, Colo.
- 2015 Mike Beachler, Fairbury, Neb.
- 2014 Mike Varney, Torrington, Wyo.
- 2013 Pat Davison, Imperial, Neb.
- 2012 Rod Fries, Sidney, Neb.
- 2011 Richard "Doc" Pedersen, Burwell, Neb.
- 2010 David Hoogestraat, Pierce, Neb.
- 2009 Tom Ourada, Crete, Neb.
- 2008 Harold Farrar, Kimball, Neb.

2025 Rudy Hultgren Dedicated Service Award Nomination

Name of Nominee:	Title:		_
Address:	City:	State:	Zip:
Telephone:			
Your Name:	Your Title:		
Utility Name:			
Address:		State:	Zip:
Telephone:			

Give a brief explanation of how the nominee has been involved with the utility, municipal power and the Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska (MEAN), and why you are nominating your appointed or elected utility board member, city council, official, or employee.



Please return by February 21, 2025 to: Amber Degner Email : <u>adegner@nmppenergy.org</u> Phone : 402-474-4759

Fax: 402-474-0473